Things I’ve heard this year, things I’ve said this year

Things I’ve heard this year:

God bless you.

So you’ve got a Baltimore map, right?

Pray more.

Toasted?

You’ll meet people.

Love you, sis.

What time are we leaving?

I’d hate to see you do that.

That might be what you do in the city, Linda, but we don’t do that here in the country.

Beer run!

We’re Christians, so we don’t worry about that.

If you need a church, I’ve got one.

Hay! Hay! Hay!

I’m sorry about your life.

You’ve got to understand, Linda. . .

Have you seen my shorts?

Do you miss Houston?

What’s wrong?

Do you need help?

You have to establish a presence.

You might not want to (or be able to) tell your story in, say, 1,100 words.

We shoot them and bury them off the property.

There’s a mouse in the garage.

It’s a rat in the garage.

You are too funny, I really do miss you.

You’re a good writer, and you have a nice eye for detail.

Dammit!

Why does everything have to be so difficult?

There’s a bear!

Did you know you have HD?

Hi, Aunt Linda.

Debit or credit?

Avert your eyes, boys, ‘cause the waters is mighty cold.

Are you finding it hard to meet people in this neighborhood?

We miss the diversity.

Things I’ve said this year:

Thanks very much.

So, I guess that’s it for now.

Can you make that with skim milk, please?

I just want to be happy, here, in this moment.

It’s complicated.

I don’t really Christmas shop.

I’ll get milk.

Can you cook meth?

That does look better.

No, that’s okay.

What do you do in the country?

I will not be drugged.

No, I’m not going back.

That seems harsh.

Do we have to pray?

Let’s not go there.

Awesome.

Sorry.

Love you.

Texas!

It’s not about the weather.

It’s just a job.

Nobody’s going to look after you but you.

I don’t think of myself as a writer.

Can we stay with you?

There’s an exploded mouse in the garage.

Don’t run over the snake in the driveway.

It’s not about the money.

I love beer.

How cool is that?

I’m leaving. Bye.

They pay me way too much money.

I write a blog.

I spend 90% of my time alone.

 

2 responses to “Things I’ve heard this year, things I’ve said this year

  1. hi im konica from India i really enjoyed your posts and your blog is simple but classic! feel free to explore mine at http://www.konicadas.wordpress.com and do give your views!

  2. I love this, Linda. A chronicle of your life in fragments. Excellent!

What do YOU have to say?

